Accept fate

[Slap Slap Slap] Turn around as I hear her running up the middle of the aisle. I step to right and stop, leaving lots of room on my left. [Slap Slap Slap] Uh oh. That’s not a rubber sole sound. She has three more steps. Can she do it? Can she do it? I look up to make eye contact.
She must know these sandals well – in her face, there is a look of acceptance of her destiny. There is peace. She throws herself on me like a thick blanket after a polar bear swim.
“Sorry! Sorry!”
“Nah, it’s ok. I could always use a hug.”
She doesn’t hear me. She’s already gone.

Leave a Reply

