“Nice”

Canadians are nice. 
Nice is a cherished quality.I love that about us. 

Nice has two meanings.
It means someone is helpful, generous, and inclusive. 
It also means unannoying, harmless, not unpleasant, non-confrontational.

But then I don’t challenge them when they say “Oh so and so is SO NICE.” Sometimes I do want to say “Well, s/he never disagrees with anything. If that’s what you mean. S/he never volunteers her time or money for anything though, so I think I’d like to call her ‘pleasant’.” but I don’t because it’s not nice.  

We need a new word to distinguish and acknowledge those that are helpful and generous. 

Leave a Reply

