The neglected child’s win

Someone called me “fair” yesterday, and I felt this thrill.

I grew up with no TV, zero magazines, and little interference and interaction from adults. There are good and bad about that.

The good: I am not flattered by “pretty,” “skinny,” or anything to do my physical being.
But I’m extremely flattered with “interesting,” “fair,” and whatever else that points to who I have grown up to be.

I tell you because I believe I’m a proof that our obsession with appearances is taught.

Leave a Reply

