Black lives matter is for everyone

I’m not black, and I know first hand what it’s like to live in a city where my experience of life is different than everyone else’s.
And no one understands. Well, no. They refuse to acknowledge I’m telling the truth. “It just couldn’t be true. This is Canada,” they say.

[my friends] don’t even realise they just admitted my rights aren’t protected unless I give them up first.

They tell me that my rights as a employee, a citizen, a human being, is protected. They list the Charter, the Code, the Act, the Regulations.
WHILE I’m telling them what’s actually happening to me. Pleading please hear my words that the laws only define what’s illegal: it does not protect me, and it isn’t even designed to so.

I’ve lost two jobs to discrimination or abuse and about to lose one. I told nothing but the truth to my friends.
“The accountant randomly walks into my office and beat me over the head with a 4-inch-thick file on the binding side, not the loose side. Yes, I’ve reported it to the boss many times.”
“Company meetings and Friday beers turn into them praying for forgiveness on my homosexual sins.”
“The husband of the higher-up decided he wanted my job. No qualification. He got my job.”

People do look at me like they think I’m overreacting. Some even said “well, that’s your side of the story.”

“Why don’t you leave and find a new job then?” they conclude. I walk away from these conversations. They don’t even realise they just admitted my rights aren’t protected unless I give them up first. This is the gap where discrimination thrives. “If it’s unsafe to go to a store at night, just shop during the daylight”?

The isolation is not based on my experience and how I am treated.

The isolation originates from others’ unwillingness to admit that maybe they aren’t perfect.
Maybe they have to admit, as painful as it may be, that their city, their government, their country isn’t perfect. It sucks. Canadians and Americans  never had to do that.
I have. Years of learning history in school realising what the Japanese did in China, Korea, and pearl harbour only two generations ago. The shame, the intense anger and pain, but you have to face and admit that the country you love is just not perfect. And we have to be the ones to fix it, not ignore it.  

Please watch this video by Sarah O’Neal.

Leave a Reply

