Do not teach your children that they are beautiful just the way they are. Teach them how to ignore those who tell them they aren’t, including yourself.

There is a strong impulse in all of us to try and protect children from hurt. I imagine that’s why I’ve seen many guardians, parents, older siblings tell a child how inadequate s/he is. Yes, it’s true. The same people who validate, affirm, and cherish the children for already being perfect just the way they are would also have the urge to prevent the child from becoming “high on themselves.”

Because I see this every single day being done to me.

Overtly or covertly, they tell me I’m inadequate. The same people would tell me, if I were an inconfident person, that I just need to love myself more.

 

Leave a Reply

